Recipes

Homemade Protein Powder for Lazy Mornings

a378874d3970b8cea15d7d6dab382df1.jpg

No matter how early I wake up, I’m always rushing to get to work which leaves little room for an actual breakfast. Now, if I were being really, really good I’d be showing off my Sunday Smoothie marathon complete with about 4-5 different kinds of smoothies in about a bazillion Mason jars, lined up for the fridge and freezer. But today is not that day. Today is lazy Saturday where I prep for lazy weekday breakfasts. Enter: Protein Powder.

Again, if I were being really good, I’d be mixing this into one of Sunday Smoothies. But I’m not. And luckily, this actually packs a decent punch on its own. Given that there are so many protein powders on the market, why would anyone want to make their own?

  1. Commercial protein powders are expensive. This one uses virtually all bulk isle products and cost around $20 for 11.5 cups
  2. Most commercial products have weird little add-ins like maltodextrin (a thickener, binder, and carb for the sake of carbs) and silica (anti-caking also…semi-sketchy)
  3. “Natural and Artificial Flavors.” I’d like to know what exactly we’re talking about, thanks.

I set out to find a couple good basic recipes and modified them a bit. One came from a dietician who suggested dry milk, oats, and almonds. Another was decidedly fancier with chlorella, hemp seeds, chia seeds, cocoa, vanilla powder, and sesame seeds. Option 1 is a base mix for swirling through actual smoothies. Option 2 is a stand-alone.

My option 3:

I nixed sesame seeds because the original kept them whole. Why? Because otherwise you kinda get tahini and this jar sits in my desk- sesame seeds go rancid quickly and I want the powder as smooth as possible.

I nixed hemp seeds because of potential workplace issues (it’s a long shot but hey) and chia because, despite the bandwagon calling to me, I just can’t really get into them.

I swapped chlorella for strawberry powder (for flavor and Vitamin C) though I do have some floating around if I feel like adding on.

And I swapped the hemp, sesame, and chia for flax flour, coconut flour, and cinnamon.

 

The Recipe:

3 C Non-Fat Dried Milk

2 C Oat Flour (pulsed in my super cheap Black & Decker blender)

2 C Almond Flour

1 3/4 C Flax Flour

1/8 C Cinnamon

1 TBS Powdered Vanilla

1/2 C Raw Cane Sugar (or whatever sweetener you like)

1/2 C Coconut Flakes

1 30 oz bag Freeze-Dried Strawberries (or any other fruit; optional)

10 oz Chocolate Ovaltine (optional)

Directions: Mix in batches in the blender, store in jars. 4 TBS per 10oz water or to taste.

Store excess that won’t be used quickly in the freezer to preserve.

Yield: 11.5 cups or roughly 46 servings

The (Rough) Nutrition Breakdown Per Serving:

128 calories

38.5mg sodium

3.6g fat

3.8g fiber

12.5g carbs

15g sugar

9.7g protein

82mg potassium

5.6% vitamin A

5.7% vitamin C

5.8% vitamin D

11% calcium

5.5% iron

5.4% b1, b6, niacin, biotin, zinc, vitamin E, and copper

3.6% magnesium

 

Some Notes:

Ovaltine: While not strictly DIY, Ovaltine contains a pretty decent amount of vitamins which would otherwise be lacking or would be in trace amounts. Additionally, it contains no added sugar (apart from beets if you’re being a real stickler) and imparts you know, chocolate. If you want to just do cocoa, go for it. But for whatever reason, (at the risk of opening Pandora’s box of nutrition), Ovaltine also blends easily with liquid. The instructions are to mix with milk- I’ve skirted this with powdered milk.

Powdered Milk: Replaceable with whatever kind of powdered milk you prefer or left out entirely if you keep dairy-free milks in your fridge at work or wherever. Other recipes, given the proportions of mine, would have called for 6 cups of powdered milk. For round 2, I may increase it and then my nutrition breakdown would change. The result would be creamier and is totally preference-based. If you’re adding to a regular smoothie, you probably won’t need the milk bump anyhow.

Other ingredients: All chosen for a reason…like flavor, nutrients, antioxidants, omega-3s, cholesterol and blood sugar controlling.

Mix-Ins: Chlorella or Spirulina, Hemp seeds or hearts, Chia, Millet Flour, Matcha, or virtually any other powdered fruit or vegetable (unless you’re making a smoothie, in which case…use actual fruits and vegetables…)

 

 

Leave a Reply

